Establishments that serve alcoholic drinks in Florida are not permitted to sell these products to individuals under the age of 21. Reportedly, 12 clerks in Florida’s Manatee County were recently caught selling alcoholic drinks to minors during a police sting. The clerks received notices to go to court as a result.
How the police sting happened
County sheriff’s officials conducted an underage drinking sting operation in December that led them to issue court notices to 12 clerks working at 11 county stores. The sting targeted stores that served or sold alcohol. Detectives visited more than 80 stores and used three informants under 21 years of age as part of the sting. The informants managed to buy alcoholic beverages at several stores in Bradenton and one store in Sarasota.
Police said they conduct underage drinking operations multiple times each year at random sites around the county. They emphasized that selling alcohol to minors is irresponsible, as it can have dangerous consequences for minors and those around them. Serving, giving or selling alcoholic drinks to minors is deemed a misdemeanor in the second degree and may lead to a sentence of 60 days behind jail bars and a $500 fine.
How a liquor license attorney can help
Individuals interested in establishing a business in Florida that sells or serves alcohol would be wise to contact an attorney right away. An attorney can help them complete the necessary paperwork to obtain their liquor licenses. The attorney can also explain all pertinent state laws so they avoid selling alcoholic beverages to minors or selling certain kinds of alcohol prohibited by law.