Experienced And Knowledgeable With Both The Alcohol beverage Industry And The Law

7 ways a drinking establishment can lose its liquor license

On Behalf of | Apr 14, 2024 | alcohol beverage law

A liquor store, bar or other kind of establishment that serves alcohol in Florida may require a liquor license. 

A liquor license can be revoked as easily as it was given. Here are a few ways a business may violate laws and lose its liquor license:

Allowing minors to drink alcohol

In Florida, it is illegal to serve alcohol to anyone who’s under 21 years of age. It is still illegal to allow a minor to drink even if a parent or guardian is present and permitting their child to drink. 

Allowing underage employees to serve alcohol

Not only are minors not allowed to be served alcohol, but employees under 21 years of age are not allowed to serve alcohol to customers. 

Allowing an unlicensed employee to serve alcohol

Employees must be over 21 years of age or older to serve alcohol, but they may also be required to undergo training and receive a license to serve alcohol. This training helps employees get the qualifications needed to understand how to lawfully serve customers alcohol. 

Not checking IDs

It is important that staff check customer’s IDs. If a customer appears 30 years of age or older, they may not need their license checked. But, forgetting to check ID could lead to a business serving someone below the drinking age.

Allowing employees to drink while working

Alcohol can cause people to act inappropriately, which is why employees should not drink on the job. Employees who drink while working could harm a business’s reputation and violate laws.

Allowing intoxicated guests to continue to drink

When a customer is visibly inebriated, employees should no longer serve them alcohol. Allowing a customer to continue drinking could make a business liable for any damages or personal injuries caused by the drunk customer. 

Violating the sale of alcohol curfew 

Alcohol must only be served within the hours of 12 am to 7 am in Florida or a business could violate laws. 

If your business is in jeopardy of losing its liquor license, it can help to get legal guidance to navigate the issue. 

Recent Posts


About the Blog

The foregoing was prepared as general information. It is not meant to provide legal advice granting any specific matter and should not be acted upon without professional counsel. If you have questions or require additional information regarding these or other related matters, please contact Malkin Law, P.A. This material may be considered attorney advertising under certain rules of professional conduct.